Faculty vote no confidence in IU President Whitten

On Tuesday, a majority of 948 faculty members voted no confidence in Indiana University President Pamela Whitten, Provost Rahul Shrivastav, and Vice Provost for Faculty and Academic Affairs Carrie Docherty, according to Forbes. There are over 21,000 total faculty within the Indiana University system, and 3,276 of them were eligible to vote. The faculty present voted 91 percent in favor of the vote against Whitten, 91.5 percent in favor of the vote against Shrivastav, and 75 percent in favor of the vote against Docherty (Photo Credit: Devan Ridgway, Indiana Public Media).

The reasoning has centered around a number of controversies at Indiana University this year that many faculty feel were not handled adequately by the administration. One cited incident involved cancelling an art exhibit by a pro-Palestine artist, albeit the university has also faced controversy for asking student organizations to cancel speaking events involving pro-Israel speakers.

The University also suspended a pro-Palestine professor allegedly for failure to follow certain event registration procedures. The Faculty Misconduct Review Board later determined the suspension was a violation of IU policy.

Faculty also cited the administration’s consideration of spinning the Kinsey Institute off as a separate 501(c)(3) affiliated with the university, failure to recognize the Indiana Graduate Workers Coalition, and not taking a strong stance in defense of Caitlin Bernard, an abortionist and IU School of Medicine professor who violated medical privacy laws by leaking the identifiable details of an abortion she performed on a child to a reporter at a pro-abortion protest.

UPDATE: View Whitten’s response here, and the audio recording of the no confidence vote meeting here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *